What’s In My Travel Makeup Bag

I’ve been wanting to post this for a while, then of course I procrastinated..but after seeing Felicia’s post, I got more inspired, so here goes!

When I travel, I like bringing make-up that doesn’t require brushes because 1)they are a hassle to store, 2)I don’t like using the same brush too many times without deep cleaning it in between, especially for liquid items like foundation and 3)it doesn’t make sense to lug around a brush cleaner when travelling. I prefer to travel with items I can apply with my fingers or disposable sponges.

Here’s what I brought on my recent trip to Seoul.

20131022_004625_wm

From top:

  1. LUSH None of Your Beeswax Lipbalm
  2. Benefit girl meets pearl (for highlight)
  3. YSL Rouge Volupte in #1
  4. Left: Bobbi Brown Corrector in Light to Medium Bisque, Right: Majolica Majorca Puff de Cheek in OR302
  5. shu uemura The Lightbulb foundation in 764 Medium Light Beige
  6. Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 005 Crush
  7. Dolly Wink Liquid Eyeliner in Brown
  8. Biore UV Sunblock (for face)
  9. CLIO Gelpresso Waterproof Pencil Gel Liner in #1 Beige Shine
  10. CLIO Gelpresso Waterproof Pencil Gel Liner in #4 Dark Choco

Sunblock is a must-have. If I were only allowed to bring ONE item from those above, it would definitely be the sunblock. You should always wear sunblock, even at night, especially on your face. Also, I didn’t bring mascara because I don’t use it that often. I’m the type who would rather wear falsies than mascara.

Usually I bring a BB cream instead of actual foundation, but I recently bought the Lightbulb and absolutely love it so I took it with me. Plus, I was specifically told by the shu uemura MUA to only wash the sponge that comes with it once a week, so that sealed the deal. I didn’t include the sponge in the picture since it was dirty.

I have 3 eyeliners because the Dolly Wink is for the actual eyeline while the CLIO pencils are for the waterline and tightline.

This Majolica blush is always my travelling go-to because it comes with its own puff that fits in its own tin.  It’s also a buildable colour so it’s versatile. I apologise for the bad lighting I just couldn’t get it right.

20131022_025652_wm

I didn’t actually “bring” the Revlon balm stain because I bought it in the duty-free on the way out of Singapore. I did intend to purchase it but wasn’t sure if it would be available so I was really happy to see it! It was only $12 too! I believe it’s about $19 in regular Watsons.

I forgot to include my Urban Decay Primer Potion (ahhh!!) but that’s another must-have..I never put any makeup on my eyes before putting on the UDPP even if I’m only wearing eyeliner and no eyeshadows. It just makes everything stay in place. I hate nothing more than unintentionally smudged eyeliner.
Melissa xx

What’s In My Travel Makeup Bag

Leave a Reply

